Tape Resist

P and I had our first successful attempt at Tape Resist art.

20130104-142856.jpg

Here is how we did it.

First, I tore off several strips of painters tape and stuck them on my jeans. This was a tip I read that should make the tape less sticky and easier to peel off without damaging the paper.

20130107-153237.jpg

Next, I had P place the pieces of painters tape onto white cardstock paper. You can use any type of paper but the thicker paper should do better.

After that, I put some red paint onto a paper plate and gave P the paint brush to cover the paper as he wanted.

20130114-142122.jpg

Then, I peeled off the tape and let the paint dry. This part is tricky- you have to be careful not to tear the paper when you are pulling the tape off. I have definitely torn the paper and P didn’t notice, but I try to avoid it.

20130107-152315.jpg

I drew a candy cane over his paint, cut and voila!

20130104-142856.jpg

Here is another shot at tape resist we did with the letter H (we are slowly making an alphabet book). I placed the tape this time and use colored printer paper which, you can see, tore more easily.
20130107-153332.jpg

This entry was posted in playtime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tape Resist

  1. Pingback: Shapes | The Luckett House

  2. Pingback: Easter Activities | The Luckett House

  3. Pingback: Alphabet | The Luckett House

  4. Pingback: Mother’s Day | The Luckett House

Leave a Reply

