Sensory bins

I have seen these sensory bins in preschool classes on and several blogs I read. I started this a while back with P and now I have done them with both boys. Here are some of the bins we have done.

First I started off with a large under bed box and filled it with oatmeal (I think I orinigally used a large can of cheap oatmeal, but that was more than enough). i also threw in a few cars and cups and bottles that we either weren’t using or that I saved from recycling. This was an instant hit!

7769388620_5ae818bf77_b

The problem with this one, was the mess. I tried telling him that if the oatmeal got all out of the box, we would clean up. It just wasn’t as much fun playing when you couldn’t make a mess!

So, after some brainstorming, I realized that the sensory bins would be more fun for P and more relaxing for me if they were done outside or in the bathtub (without water).

Here is a bin I did with colored rice (he liked it just as much when we used the original rice, this just added some interest) in the bathtub. I closed the drain and just asked P to keep the rice in the tub.

IMG_0392

Here is another bin I did in my shower. M was doing this with P for the first time. I just covered the drain, stripped them down to their diapers and closed the door. M loved it just as much as his big brother! After playing for a while, he tried to eat the oatmeal. Luckily, it was ok for him to eat and after one bite he realized this oatmeal was not fun to eat.

20130117-150127.jpgHere is another bin I have ready to go. I will just have the boys pick a couple of cars to add.

20130117-145933.jpg

This entry was posted in playtime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sensory bins

  1. Pingback: Kool-Aid Colored Rice | The Luckett House

  2. asantb says:

    I love the colored rice! I haven’t seen it done with colored rice. Cute!!

  3. Visiting from Let’s Hear it For the Boys. I’d like to invite you to my Friday Flash Blog, where you can share your best blog entry of the week! The party goes on ALL weekend. And who knows, you may just get featured next week.

    Jennifer
    thejennyevolution.com

  4. Pingback: Water Table | The Luckett House

  5. Pingback: One Year Old Activities | The Luckett House

Leave a Reply

