Cleaning the Washing Machine

I love it when things are clean, but I hate cleaning. I am much more motivated to do some deep cleaning than the day-to-day cleaning the counters, vacuuming, etc.

I never knew that you needed to clean your washing machine until recently. We bought our washer/dryer about 6 years ago and I just never thought about cleaning it. Thankfully, I am addicted to Pinterest and saw this post on cleaning your top loader. I did this about 3 months ago and I was so excited to see what a difference this made (I know, I am a geek that gets excited about cleaning). It is recommended to do this every 6 months, but now that I notice how dirty the washer gets, and I have dirty boys and a black lab running around the house, I couldn’t wait 3 more months to clean.

Here are my before pics (I have no light in my laundry room so my pictures aren’t great)-

20130425-210145.jpg

20130425-210120.jpg

20130425-210109.jpg

I used 1 quart of distilled vinegar and 1 quart of bleach.

20130425-210059.jpg

First, I set the washer to the hottest setting and started the longest cycle.

20130425-210048.jpg

I had to stand nearby and check for when the water filled the machine (I didn’t time it, but it was probably about 10-15 min). Then, I added 1 quart (4 cups) of bleach. I closed the lid and let it agitate for a minute. Then I let that sit for 1 hour.

After that, I closed the lid and let the whole cycle run through.

When that was done, I filled the machine with hot water like before and added 1 quart of distilled vinegar. I let this sit for an hour as well. While it was sitting, I dipped an old rag into the vinegar water and used that to wipe clean the lid, knobs and other spots that weren’t soaking.

20130425-210021.jpg

After letting the cycle run all the way through again, it looked like I had a new washer! I keep pointing it out to my husband who ooh’s and ahh’s (he is well-trained ;)!

20130426-141549.jpg

20130426-141558.jpg

This entry was posted in life and home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cleaning the Washing Machine

  1. Jan Dickerson says:

    You are like your mom!!   Jan Dickerson

    ________________________________

Leave a comment