Mother’s Day

We made mother’s day cards for the boys’ grandmothers today.

20130506-135555.jpg

I just keep going back to tape resist painting. It’s a favorite and it turns out so well! After seeing this post from Modern Parents Messy Kids (a favorite blog of mine), we tried something similar using shapes that P was learning about.

20130318-143232.jpg

Today, I started with a piece of cardstock and tape. We have used painters tape in the past, but we have recently gotten some washi tape that we have been using (it’s from Target; they call it printed paper tape).

20130506-135503.jpg

It worked just as well as the painters tape and was cheaper. I didn’t do a good job of making sure it wasn’t too sticky. After we did these and they had some tears, I played around with the tape and I learned that sticking and unsticking the tape a few times on my jeans was the best way to do that.

I used the tape to form letters for “Mare” (one grandmother name) and “love” (for the other grandmother).

20130506-135835.jpg

We used the paint and brushes that I shared in the Art Supplies post. I put about 4 dabs of paint on each paper and let the boys do their thing.

20130506-135714.jpg

20130506-135651.jpg

20130506-135629.jpg

As soon as they were finished painting, I carefully pulled the tape off before it had time to dry.

20130506-135555.jpg

I think the grandmothers will be thrilled with their cards!

This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

